SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

House Democrats Announce Leadership for 28th Alaska Legislature


November 13, 2012
Tuesday PM

(SitNews) Anchorage, Alaska - Alaska’s House Democratic Caucus announced on Friday its leadership for the 28th Alaska Legislature and its commitment to continue to work toward oil taxes that earn a fair return for Alaskans, lowering energy costs across the state, and ensuring Alaskans have access to top-quality education.

Representative Beth Kerttula (D-Juneau) will be House Democratic Leader, and Representative Chris Tuck (D-Anchorage) will be the House Democratic Whip. The leadership will work as a team and share responsibilities. Representative Max Gruenberg (D-Anchorage) will remain House Democratic Floor Leader.

“Representative Tuck knows firsthand what it’s like to be a hard-working Alaskan trying to earn a living and build a future in this state,” said Kerttula. “I’m excited to have him join me in leading this caucus as we look to build a strong economy and expand opportunity for Alaskans, and he will be invaluable as we stand up against oil giveaways and affronts to our individual rights.”

“I am honored to earn the chance to lead this caucus with Rep. Kerttula,” said Tuck. “We have a strong team, with some great new members, and we’re committed to the values embodied in the Alaska constitution and shared by hard-working, independent Alaskans across the state. I look forward to helping our caucus develop our resources for the maximum benefit of Alaskans, working across the aisle to lower energy costs, growing our economy, and building an education system that will give everyone who wants a good job the skills they need to get it.”

Tuck is a lifelong Alaskan, electrician and father. After serving on the Anchorage School Board, Tuck was elected to the Alaska House of Representatives in 2008 and has worked on the House Resources, Energy, Rules, and Economic Development Trade and Tourism committees.

The House Democratic Caucus also announced its assignments to the House Finance Committee. They are as follows:

Representative Les Gara (D-Anchorage)
Representative David Guttenberg (D-Fairbanks)
Representative Scott Kawasaki (D-Fairbanks)

The caucus will announce committee assignments at a later date.



House Majority Organizes for 28th Legislature; Chenault returns as Speaker, leadership & committee chairs announced - The Alaska House Majority Caucus has organized for the 28th Alaska Legislature. Representative Mike Chenault, R-Nikiski, returns for a third term as House Speaker. Representative Lance Pruitt, R-Anchorage is the new Majority Leader, and Representative Craig Johnson, R-Anchorage, returns as Rules Chair. Representatives Bill Stoltze, R-Mat-Su/Chugiak, & Alan Austerman, R-Kodiak, are the co-chairs of the House Finance Committee. - More...
Friday PM - November 09, 2012



Source of News: 

Alaska Democrates


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2012
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews may be protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper sources.