SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

House Majority Organizes for 28th Legislature
Chenault returns as Speaker,
leadership & committee chairs announced


November 09, 2012
Friday PM

(SitNews) - The Alaska House Majority Caucus has organized for the 28th Alaska Legislature. Representative Mike Chenault, R-Nikiski, returns for a third term as House Speaker. Representative Lance Pruitt, R-Anchorage is the new Majority Leader, and Representative Craig Johnson, R-Anchorage, returns as Rules Chair. Representatives Bill Stoltze, R-Mat-Su/Chugiak, & Alan Austerman, R-Kodiak, are the co-chairs of the House Finance Committee.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to return as Speaker,” Chenault said. “The gavel comes with a tremendous amount of responsibility, and I am confident we will continue to respect and uphold the tradition and powers of the Speaker’s Office and Alaska State House.”

“We welcome five new members to caucus, and are eager to continue relationship building and educating each other prior to the start of session,” Pruitt said. “We will continue focusing on key issues – oil tax reform, affordable energy, quality education, public safety, and responsible investments – and are looking forward to working with the new Senate leadership and Governor to finally push Alaska forward.”

“I’m proud to be back as Rules Chair. It’s a very strong caucus and I’m ready to help get to work and move Alaska forward,” Johnson said.

“We came together rather well, and I am glad to come back for Southeast Alaska to be a part of the House leadership team,” Wilson said.

“This organization represents all regions of Alaska, in a bipartisan spirit, with a strong focus on resource development, relevant and accountable education, and a commitment to work for a stronger economy,” Stoltze said.

“I am very pleased that we’ve been able to form a strong bipartisan Majority that will serve the people of Alaska well,” Austerman said. “I am appreciative of the confidence the caucus has placed in me as co-chair for the operational budget of the State of Alaska. I’m looking forward to continuing the efforts of the past co-chairs in structuring a sustainable budget into the future.”

The Legislature convenes Jan. 15, 2013 in Juneau.

Finance Committee members are:

Rep. Stoltze & Rep. Austerman, Co-Chairs
Rep. Mark Neuman, R-Big Lake
Rep. Bryce Edgmon, D-Dillingham
Rep. Cathy Muñoz, R-Juneau
Rep. Tammie Wilson, R-North Pole
Rep. Mia Costello, R-Anchorage
Rep. Steve Thompson, R-Fairbanks

Committee Chairs

Judiciary – Rep. Wes Keller, R-Wasilla
Resources – Reps. Eric Feige, R-Chickaloon & Rep. Dan Saddler, R-JBER/Eagle River
State Affairs – Rep. Bob Lynn, R-Anchorage
Health & Social Services – Rep. Pete Higgins, R-Fairbanks
Labor & Commerce – Rep. Kurt Olson, R-Soldotna/Kenai
Transportation – Rep. Peggy Wilson, R-Wrangell
Education – Rep. Lynn Gattis, R-Wasilla
Community & Regional Affairs – Rep. Ben Nageak, D-Barrow & Rep. Gabrielle LeDoux, R-Anchorage

Special & Joint Committee Chairmanships

Economic Development, Trade & Tourism – Rep. Shelley Hughes, R-Palmer
Energy – Rep. Charisse Millett, R-Anchorage & Rep. Doug Isaacson, R-North Pole
Fisheries – Rep. Paul Seaton, R-Homer
Military & Veterans Affairs – Rep. Neal Foster, D-Nome & Rep. LeDoux
Legislative Council – Rep. Mike Hawker, R-Anchorage
Regulation Review – Rep. Lora Reinbold, R-Eagle River
Legislative Budget & Audit – Rep. Hawker, Vice-Chair
Joint Armed Services – Rep. Dan Saddler, House Co-Chair
Select Committee on Legislative Ethics – Rep. Charisse Millett, House Chair


Source of News: 

Alaska House Majority


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2012
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews may be protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper sources.