SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Lorrie Heagy Named Alaska Teacher of the Year 2011


November 20, 2010
Saturday PM

The Alaska Department of Education & Early Development has named Lorrie Heagy, an elementary music teacher and librarian in Juneau, the Alaska Teacher of the Year for 2011. The announcement was made November 14 at the annual conference of the Association of Alaska School Boards in Anchorage.

Trevor Townsend, who now works in the Mat-Su Borough School District, was named Alternate Teacher of the Year 2011 for his achievements as a secondary English teacher in the Bristol Bay Borough School District.

“Ms. Heagy and Mr. Townsend represent the finest in Alaska’s teaching profession, but they are not alone,” said Alaska Education Commissioner Larry LeDoux. “Many of Alaska’s teachers bring out the best in our children by giving the best of themselves. This award is an opportunity for Alaskans to express gratitude to teachers.”

Since Heagy moved to Glacier Valley Elementary, its library, music and art programs have seen phenomenal growth, said Juneau School District Assistant Superintendent Laury Scandling in a letter of recommendation. “Students get up early for 7 a.m. band practice and stay after school for activities that did not exist six years ago. Classroom teachers integrate art and music into their language arts, science, and math programs,” Scandling said.

Townsend has a remarkable gift to teach and goes far beyond his duties to help students, said Bristol Bay Borough School District Academic Advisor Darlene Groat in a letter of recommendation. “His classroom is open to students during his morning prep and after school. He has gone to the homes of students to give them extra help. He does not give up on any student,” Groat said.

The Alaska Teacher of the Year may be called upon to speak at education conferences and participate in various statewide education working groups. The teacher is the Alaska nominee for national teacher of the year. The alternate teacher of the year would serve as Alaska teacher of the year if the latter were named national teacher of the year.

The Alaska Teacher of the Year and the alternate were chosen by a committee composed of members of major educational associations and the current Teacher of the Year, who is Jackie Lee Johnson of Palmer. The committee considered a written application, a video snapshot of the teacher in the classroom, and an interview.



Source of News:

Alaska Department of Education & Early Childhood Development


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2010
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska