SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Alaska Association of Harbormasters and Port Administrators
Holds Annual Conference


November 02, 2009

The Alaska Association of Harbormasters and Port Administrators (AAHPA) held its annual conference the week of October 19-23 in Kodiak, Alaska. Over 60 attendees from communities throughout coastal Alaska listened to presentations from a variety of State and Federal agencies on topics ranging from grant programs for repair and replacement of infrastructure to regulations regarding interaction with marine mammals.

Highlights of the conference included the announcement of the Matt O'Boyle of Skagway as the AAHPA Harbormaster of the year and Ketchikan's Port and Harbors Customer Service Representative Donna Ryan as the AAHPA Employee of the Year. Ryan's nomination cited numerous initiatives she undertook during the past year to improve both the physical and procedural environment for Port and Harbors customers in Ketchikan.

Elections for AAHPA officers and board of directors were also conducted during the conference with Ketchikan's Port and Harbors Director Steve Corporon being elected to a two-year term as President of the AAHPA. He replaced Juneau's Port Director John Stone who was instrumental in the establishment of the State of Alaska's Municipal Harbor 50/50 grant program in 2007.



Source of News:

Alaska Association of Harbormasters and Port Administrators


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2009
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska