Sitnews - Stories In The News - Ketchikan, Alaska - News, Features, Opinions...


Governor's Emergency Medical Service Awards Announced


November 06, 2004

Anchorage, Alaska - The Governor's Annual Awards for Emergency Medical Services (EMS), sponsored by the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services, were announced at the opening session of the annual State EMS Symposium on Friday, November 5, and will be presented the evening of November 6 at the 27th Annual Alaska EMS Awards Banquet at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage.

Award recipients are:

EMS Citizen Award:

Michael Pitka and Helen Alexie of Russian Mission, to honor their rescue of two small children from drowning.

EMS Provider of the Year Award:

Terry Buness from Wrangell, in recognition of his 34 years of service with the Wrangell Fire Department, and his participation as a board member on the Alaska Council on EMS and the Southeast Region EMS Council.

EMS Educator Award:

Katie Lewis of Sitka, to honor her two decades of dedicated service as a caring and meticulous EMS educator in Southeast Alaska.

Researcher/Administrator Award:

Martha Moore of the Alaska Division of Public Health, Section of Community Health and Emergency Medical Services, in recognition for her 13 years administering the Alaska Trauma Registry, and her work in the Alaska Trauma Care System and Injury Surveillance and Prevention Program.

George H. Longenbaugh Award:

Dr. Mike Levy of Anchorage, to honor his 15 years of leadership and advocacy of the EMS system in Alaska.

Melissa Ann Peters Memorial Award:

Jeanne Molitor, RN of Anchorage, to honor her dedication and service in trauma data collection and nurse trauma care education in rural Alaska.

Outstanding Ambulance Service Award:

Aleknagik First Responders, for their rescue of a woman whose snow machine had broken through the ice of Lake Aleknagik at night in sub-zero wind chill conditions.

In addition to the Governor's Awards, the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services awarded special commendations to the following:

Grant Aviation of Anchorage for its air medical service in the Yukon-Kuskokwim region.

Scott Logan, Max Jewell and Jim Jewell of Skagway who saved the life of a man who had broken his neck in a motorcycle accident.



Source of News:

Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
Web Site


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter on SitNews
        Read Letters/Opinions
Submit A Letter to the Editor

Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska