SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


The Alaska Fire Service "Honors Its Own"
Ketchikan's Tighe among those honored


October 18, 2008

Firefighters and fire chiefs from all over the State of Alaska recently met in Juneau at the 2008 Annual Fire Service Conference. At the annual Conference Banquet on September 27th, after a week of training and meetings, attendees honored Alaskan Firefighters that stood out in their service to their communities and the State of Alaska. The awards were announced at the conference banquet by Alaska State Fire Marshal David L. Tyler.

jpg Alaska Fire Service "Honors Its Own"

Andy Tighe (Far Right) receives his award at the conference banquet on September 27th.
Lt. to Rt: Mahlon Greene, Alaska State Fire Marshal's Office; Dave Tyler, Alaska State Fire Marshal; Cathy Tighe; and Andy Tighe, Ketchikan Fire Department
Photo Courtesy of the Alaska State Fire Marshal's Office

Firefighter/EMT2 Andy Tighe, a career staff member of the Ketchikan Fire Department and also a member of the North Tongass Volunteer Fire Department, was named "Public Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year" for his outstanding job educating the public in the Ketchikan area about fire safety and fire prevention.

Sven Pearson from Capital City Fire Rescue was named "Firefighter of the Year" for his commitment and service to his community and fire department through establishing a training program for new recruits. This program prepared new department members for the difficult job as a firefighter.

Chief Jack Smith from the North Slope Borough Fire Department was given the "William Hagevig Award" honoring the "Fire Service Instructor of the Year." Chief Smith has made training and safety a priority for his local fire departments in the North Slope Borough.

The "Ken Akerley Fire Service Leadership Award" recognizes firefighters that stand out as leaders in their organizations. Their leadership and guidance is recognized by subordinates as crucial in the operation and success of the organization. This year, two outstanding leaders were recognized with this coveted award. Chief Dave Squires of the Seward Fire Department and Chief Mitch Flynn of the Steese Area Volunteer Fire Department were this year's recipients.


Sources of News:

Ketchikan Fire Department
The Alaska Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire and Life Safety


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2008
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska