Sitnews - Stories In The News - Ketchikan, Alaska - News, Features, Opinions...


New School Board Members Sworn In


October 14, 2004

Ketchikan, Alaska - Ketchikan School Superintendent Harry Martin administered the oath of office to the three newly elected School Board members Wednesday evening. Joel Jackson and Dave Lieben were chosen by the voters to fill two three-year seats vacated by incumbents Richard Van Cleave and Russell Thomas. Van Cleave did not file for re-election and Thomas filed as a write-in candidate.

jpg Joel Jackson

Superintendent Harry Martin administers the oath of office to Joel Jackson as Board member Choc Schafer looks on. Seated next to Schafer are newly elected board members Keith Smith and Dave Lieben.
Photo by Carl Thompson

Joel Jackson had previously served on the board. Jackson was appointed by the School Board to serve until the 2004 election in the seat vacated by the resignation of School Board Member Anna Annicelli. Jackson then chose to run for a three-year seat.

Keith Smith filed to fill a one-year seat on the Ketchikan School Board. Smith was opposed by incumbent Russell Thomas who filed as a write in candidate.

The current members of the Ketchikan School Board are Mike Harpold, Choc Shafer, Deborah Harney, Joel Jackson, Susan Walsh, Keith Smith, Dave Lieben and student member Jarrad Fudge.


jpg Dave Lieben

Newly elected board member Dave Lieben and Superintendent Harry Martin.
Photo by Carl Thompson

jpg Keith Smith

Newly elected board member Keith Smith takes the oath of office.
Smith was elected to a one year term.
Photo by Carl Thompson


jpg Mike Harpold

Mike Harpold, School Board President, on behalf of the Board expressed appreciation for the service and contributions of outgoing board members
Richard Van Cleave and Russell Thomas.
Photo by Carl Thompson




E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter on SitNews
        Read Letters/Opinions
Submit A Letter to the Editor

Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska