SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Alaska Stamp Unveiled
Post Office Honors 50th Anniversary of Alaska Statehood


September 18, 2008
Thursday PM

Alaska Lieutenant Governor Sean Parnell on Wednesday unveiled the design of a new U.S. postage stamp honoring Alaska's 50th anniversary of statehood. The stamp bears a photograph taken by Alaska photographer Jeff Schultz, and features DeeDee Jonrowe and her dog team set against a stunning mountain backdrop. The stamp is set for release on January 3, 2009.

Lt. Gov. Parnell was joined by Alaska District Manager Dianne Horbochuk of the U.S. Postal Service for the unveiling held at the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce annual convention. Approximately 15 communities from around the state were represented at the convention.

"The Postal Service is proud to issue this beautiful stamp in recognition of 50 years of Alaska as a state," said Horbochuk. "When the stamp comes out next year we think it will be very popular with Alaskans as well as throughout the United States."

jpg Alaska Stamp Unveiled

Senator Ted Stevens (R-Alaska), Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), and Congressman Don Young (R-Alaska) were able to preview the new Alaska statehood stamp with Postmaster General John Potter.
(Left-to-right) Congressman Young, Postmaster General John Potter, Senator Murkowski, and Senator Stevens with a commemorative picture of the new stamp.

"The Governor and I appreciate the U.S. Postal Service's desire to honor Alaska's history and our statehood anniversary with this beautiful stamp," said Lt. Gov. Parnell. "This stamp not only clearly displays Alaska's beauty and our proud tradition of dog sled racing, but it also signifies the bravery and courage of the Alaskan people."

Governor Palin agreed.

"This picture perfectly captures Alaska's wild and beautiful landscape and the independence of her people," said Governor Sarah Palin. "Both Todd and I appreciate how appropriately it represents Alaskans' love for the outdoors and our pristine wilderness, as well as our determination to blaze new paths and forge ahead."

Senator Ted Stevens (R-Alaska), Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), and Congressman Don Young (R-Alaska) were able to preview the new Alaska statehood stamp with Postmaster General John Potter. The Postal Service unveiled the new Alaska Statehood stamp during the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce Fall Conference at the Carlson Center in Fairbanks Wednesday.

"This is a beautiful stamp," said Senator Stevens. "The Post Office did a great job selecting an image that conveys the spirit of Alaskans and the magnificence of our great state."

"This stamp not only depicts the beauty and the majesty of Alaska, but honors the 50th Anniversary of Alaska statehood," said Senator Murkowski. "We can all be proud of this lasting recognition."

"The Postal Service did an excellent job on this stamp," added Congressman Young. "It truly captures the beauty of our State and that Alaskan spirit and character that has made us so strong during our 50 years of Statehood. This stamp is the perfect tribute to our history and makes me greatly look forward to our future."

Alaska became an official U.S. territory in 1912 and the 49th state on January 3, 1959.

The stamp will be issued on January 2, 2009, the 50th anniversary of Alaska Statehood.

Source of News:

Office of the Governor

Office of Sen. Ted Stevens


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2008
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska