Sitnews - Stories In The News - Ketchikan, Alaska - Opinions


Governor Appoints 12 to Boards and Commissions
Former Legislator Dick Shultz Appointed to Teachers' Retirement Board


September 24, 2003
Wednesday - 1:15 am

Tuesday Governor Frank Murkowski announced the recent appointments of 12 people to fill state boards and commissions including the Teachers' Retirement Board, Western Interstate/Higher Education Commission, Workforce Investment Board, Independent Living Council, Midwives Board, Humanities Forum, and the Broadcasting Commission.

TEACHERS' RETIREMENT BOARD Richard "Dick" Shultz of Tok was appointed to the public seat on the Teachers' Retirement Board. Shultz spent 12 years in the Alaska State Legislature, first as a representative from district 17 and then as a senator from district J. He graduated from Kearney State College with a sociology degree and a masters' in counseling and guidance. Shultz had previously been an assistant superintendent in the Delta Greely School District and a principal teacher in the Copper River School District.

WESTERN INTERSTATE HIGHER EDUCATION COMMISSION Appointed to a seat on the Western Interstate Higher Education Commission was Marshall Lind of Fairbanks campus. Lind is the chancellor of the University of Alaska Fairbanks and is the former chancellor of the University of Alaska Southeast. Lind served as Alaska's commissioner of Education from 1971 ­ 1983 and again from 1986 ­ 1987, serving under four governors. He was also the superintendent of schools for the Kodiak Island Borough from 1969 ­ 1971.

Re-appointed to the board for her third term is Diane Barrans of Juneau. She is the executive director of the Commission on Post Secondary Education and was first appointed in 1996 and again in 1999.

WORKFORCE INVESTMENT BOARD Harold M. Holten of Anchorage was appointed to an organized labor seat on the Workforce Investment Board. Holten has been a union member for 26 years and in union leadership for the past twelve years. He was the director of Loomis Armored Car Division and a shipyard superintendent. He was also an assistant brig warden during his time in the Marine Corps from 1963 ­ 1969. Holten's term of public service included time as an Alaska State Trooper.

Jim Laiti of Fairbanks was appointed to an organized labor seat on the Workforce Investment Board. Laiti is the business manager for Local 375 Plumbers and Pipefitters Union. He replaces J.C. Wingfield, also of Local 375, who retired earlier this year.

Terry Miller of Juneau was appointed to an organized labor seat on the Workforce Investment Board. Miller has worked as a heavy equipment operator in the Juneau area, and for the City and Borough of Juneau. He is a member of the Juneau Central Labor Council and the Juneau Building Trades Council.

Tim Sunday was appointed to an organized labor seat on the Workforce Investment Board. Sunday chaired the Juneau Economic Development Council from 1996 to 2001, and has been a member of the Teamsters Local 959 for 20 years. Sunday worked for several years in the 1970s on the Trans- Alaska Pipeline System (TAPS). During the 1980s and 1990s he worked in construction industries in Southeast Alaska.

INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL William Johnson of Wasilla was appointed to the advocate/consumer seat on the Independent Living Council. Johnson has attended Matanuska-Susitna College. He has worked for Johnson Enterprises in sales and with the Alaska Open Imaging Center in the marketing department. Johnson is also a mobility group member for Access Alaska, and an advisory board member for the Alaska Open Imaging Center.

Bertha "B" Jarvi of Fairbanks was appointed to the independent living center representative seat on the Independent Living Council. Jarvi has worked as a vice-president for Professional Guardian Services Corporation since 1996, which provides advocacy and conservatorship for vulnerable people, trust management, and estate administration. She has also worked for the Community Advocacy Project of Alaska. Jarvi attended the University of Wisconsin and the University of Alaska Fairbanks. She is a member of the Elder Issues Task Force in the Tanana Chiefs Conference, Interior Caregivers Association, and the Alaska State Association of Guardians and Advocates.

BOARD OF CERTIFIED DIRECT ENTRY MIDWIVES Dr. Mark Richey of Anchorage was re-appointed to the physician/obstetrician seat on the Board of Certified Direct Entry Midwives. Richey received his undergraduate degree from the University of Texas at Arlington and his medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. Richey is currently in private practice specializing in obstetrics and gynecology. He was the previous chairman of the Obstetrics and Gynecology department at the Alaska Regional Hospital in Anchorage.

ALASKA HUMANITIES FORUM BOARD OF DIRECTORS Catherine Engstrom Munoz of Juneau was appointed to the public/governor appointed seat. Munoz received a degree in political science from the University of the Pacific, and studied at the University of Spain in Granada. She is currently the owner and operator of Ad Lib, a retail and art gallery. She sits on the board of the directors for the Salvation Army and is the founder and past president of the Juneau Community Charter School.

ALASKA PUBLIC BROADCASTING COMMISSION Steven Strait of Anchorage was appointed to a public seat on the Alaska Public Broadcasting Commission. Strait received a degree from the University of Idaho and participated in television director studies at Television New Zealand. Strait is involved with the Anchorage International Rotary, and was a previous commissioner on the Alaska Public Broadcasting Commission from 1988 ­ 1995. He is currently president of Alaska Broadcast Media and has worked for Anchorage stations KTVA, KTUU, and KIMO.


Source of News Release:

Office of Governor
Web Site


E-mail Editor:
Post a Comment
-------View Comments
Submit an Opinion - Letter

Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska