SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

"Occupy the Voter's Booth" -- Round One of Election
Season Over, Two to Go
Register by September 2nd for Upcoming Local Election,
October 7th for Presidental



August 29, 2012

(SitNews) Ketchikan, Alaska - With round one, the primary election at an end, the August 28th unofficial election results show that incumbent Republican Don Young will face Democrat Sharon M. Cissna and Libertarian Jim C. McDermott in the November 6th general election. Young, Cissna and McDermott all wish to represent Alaskans in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The list of candidates running for President of the United States is much longer with many of the candidates rarely, if never, mentioned in the mainstream media. The November 6th, election is expected to feature major party candidates, the incumbent President Barack Obama for the Democrats, and Governor Mitt Romney for the Republicans. (For a full list of declared candidates & parties, click here)

House District 33 which encompasses Ketchikan, Thorne Bay and Wrangell, will choose between Matt Olson of Ketchikan (Democrat), Representative Peggy Wilson of Wrangell (Republican) and Representative Kyle Johansen of Ketchikan (Independent). Johansen recently had his signature petition approved by the Alaska Division of Elections.

For Senate District Q, which includes Ketchikan, voters will choose between Albert M. Kookesh of Angoon (Democrat) and Bert K. Stedman of Sitka (Republican).

But wait, long before the 57th quadrennial United States Presidential Election and selection of our district representatives and senators, Ketchikan voters will have the opportunity to return to their local polling places on Tuesday, October 02, 2012. That's the day the Ketchikan General Borough Election will be held.

Decisions should be easy for both the Borough Assembly, School Board and the Ketchikan City Council as there are just enough candidates to fill the available seats that are open. Of course, the option for write-ins exists. The only contest will be for the Ketchikan City Mayor's seat.

The City of Ketchikan voters will have the opportunity to choose between Lewis Leroy Armey Jr. and Lew Williams III for the one seat 3-year term seat available as Mayor. There are two 3-year term seats available on the Ketchikan City Council. Candidates filing for these seats are Robert Sivertsen and DeAnn E. Karlson -- no challengers. Vote and show your support and appreciation for those willing to serve in public office.

There are two 3-year term seats open on the Ketchikan Borough Assembly. Those filing are Jim Van Horn and Todd Phillips. No challengers. For the Ketchikan School Board, there are three 3-year term seats open. Those who have filed are Coleen E. Scanlon, Stephen Bradford and Ralph Beardsworth -- again, no challengers. Also on the Ketchikan School Board there is one 2-year seat open with Michelle O'Brien filing for this seat -- no challengers. Again, vote and show your support and appreciation for those willing to serve in public office.

To vote in the Ketchikan Borough election on October 2nd, you must be a qualified Borough voter -- a person registered to vote in state elections at a residence address within the Borough at least thirty (30) days before the election at which the person seeks to vote. Register by September 2, 2012, to vote in the October 2, 2012 Regular Ketchikan Borough election. Voter registration forms are available at the Ketchikan Borough Clerk’s Office, City Clerk’s Office, Ketchikan Public Library, and online at

Get educated! Pick up sample ballots as early as September 14, 2012 from the Ketchikan Borough Clerk’s Office.

Registration and registration updates deadline for the November 6th election is Sunday, October 7, 2012. Again, get educated. Prior to each General Election, the Division of Elections prepares the Official Election Pamphlet that is distributed to all registered households in Alaska. Information is also available online at the Alaska Division of Elections.

Alaska law allows for same day voter registration for the purpose of voting for President and Vice President of the United States. You may vote a questioned ballot at any polling place, vote an in-person absentee ballot at an absentee voting location or vote a by-mail ballot or by-fax ballot.




E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2012
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews may be protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper sources.