SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

21st Annual Rubber Duck Race:
And the winners are...


July 05, 2011

(SitNews) Ketchikan, Alaska – The fastest little rubber duck in the First City Rotary's 21st Annual Rubber Duck Race held on July 4, 2011, claimed the $2,500 grand prize for its owner Rebecca Valentine.

Henry Keene's little rubber duck was the second to cross the finish line claiming the second prize fo $1,500 and in third place winning $1,000 was the duck owned by Danelle Landis.

The popular little duck race down Ketchikan Creek commenced about an hour later than usual due to high tides preventing the judge’s skiff from passing under the Stedman Street bridge. Father Ron Kotrc served as race judge this year, catching the winning ducks as they passed through the finish line.

The winners of the 21st Annual First City Rotary Rubber Duck Race:

First:  $2500 cash:  Rebecca Valentine
Second:  $1500 cash:  Henry Keene
Third:  $1000 cash:  Danelle Landis

Fourth through 15th:  $100 cash
4 Scott Pattison
5 Mike Harpold
6 Eric Stockhauser
7 Chester Ginter
8 Linnaea Troina
9 Anne Mortenson
10 Woody Angst
11 Christi R. Mestas
12 Don Peters
13 Sheri M. Davis
14 Aliyah Pipal
15 Rebecca Valentine
16th through 35th:  $50 cash
16 Mykael Effenberger
17 Kelly Chick
18 Laury Govaars
19 Lance Haynes
20 Diane Lluellyn
21 Gail Vermilyea
22 Matt Peebles
23 Danny Haynes
24 Mary Gubatayao
25 Lynda Adams
26 Mary Bolshakoff
27 Bianca Jurczak
28 Jeff Coyne
29 Gottlieb Kossmann
30 Patrick Branco
31 Lanetta Lundberg
32 Kara McCoy
33 Sara Purcell
34 Jan East
35 Teri R. Marx



Source of News: 

First City Rotary


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2011
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews may be protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper sources.