Sitnews - Stories In The News - Ketchikan, Alaska - News, Features, Opinions...


Governor Announces Boards and Commissions Appointments


June 15, 2005

Alaska Governor Frank H. Murkowski announced the appointment of members to several boards and commissions, including the Commission on Postsecondary Education, the AIDEA and ANGDA boards, the State Commemorative Coin Commission and the Statehood Celebration Commission.

Alaska Commemorative Coin Commission: This commission will serve as an advisory committee to conduct a selection process and will provide at least 3 narrative design concepts for the Alaska quarter to be printed by the U.S. Mint in 2008.

Appointed to the commission are James L. Evenson of Kenai, Richard Hanscom of Fairbanks, Nicole A. Hartman of Juneau, Bryant Hopkins of Fairbanks, Beverly Macy of Barrow, Stanley A. Mead of Anchorage, Rie Munoz (vice-chair) of Juneau, Stacie Stevens of Anchorage, Josephine E. Stiles of Nome, Mark Vinsel (chair) of Juneau, and Jinx (Patricia) Whitaker of Fairbanks. All terms expire Jan. 1, 2009.

Alaska Statehood Celebration Commission: This 9-member commission has been charged by the governor to plan and administer all official state activities for the 50th anniversary of Alaska's Statehood in 2009.

New members Christopher S. Constant of Anchorage, Gail Phillips of Anchorage, Leo Rasmussen of Nome, Cherie Solie of Fairbanks, and Kate Tesar of Juneau join current commission members: Rep. Tom Anderson of Anchorage, Rep. David Guttenberg of Fairbanks, Sen. Donald C. Olson of Golovin, and Sen. Gary L. Stevens of Kodiak. Terms expire Jan. 31, 2010.

Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education: This commission administers student loan programs and authorizes new facilities and programs. Robert L. Bell of Kasilof was appointed to a two-year term designated for a student. D. Randy Simmons of Anchorage, was re-appointed April 14 to a 4-year term that expires March 1, 2009.

Attorney William F. Large of Anchorage, was appointed to the Alaska Municipal Bond Bank Authority to replace the unexpired term of Sharon Kelly. His term will expire July 15, 2006.

Alaska State Board of Dental Examiniers: This board regulates and controls licensing, permits and revocations of the dental profession. Gregory J. Gursey and Vickie Hauff, both of Anchorage, were appointed and William L. Gerace, D.D.S of Anchorage and Rebecca Neslund, D.M.D. of Kodiak have been re-appointed. The appointments require legislative confirmation and expire March 1, 2009.

Dale O. Collins of Ketchikan was appointed to a 4-year term on the State Board of Marine Pilots. The appointment requires legislative confirmation and the term expires March 1, 2009.

Scott R. Heyworth and Daniel A. Sullivan, both of Anchorage, were reappointed to the Alaska Natural Gas Development Authority. Their terms expire June 5, 2008.

Marshall L. Lind, Ph.D. of Juneau was reappointed to the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education. The term expires June 25, 2009.

John R. Winther of Petersburg was re-appointed to a 2-year term on the Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority. His term expires June 30, 2007.

Alaska State Council on the Arts: This council is intended to enrich the cultural life of the state by encouraging and supporting excellence in the arts. Governor Murkowski reappointed Vera Crews of Anchorage, Peggy A. MacDonald Ferguson of Fairbanks, Dr. Sven D. Haakanson, Jr. of Kodiak, and Nancy Harbour of Anchorage to 3-year terms. All terms expire June 30, 2008.

Alaska Veterans Advisory Council: This council advises the Department of Military and Veterans Affairs and other state agencies on matters concerning veterans, their dependants or survivors. Richard Frank of Fairbanks, Ronald C. Huffman of Nome; and Victor Karmun of Kotzebue were reappointed. Hugh (Dan) D. McCrummen, III of Juneau was newly appointed to the council. The 3-year terms expire Nov. 10, 2007.

Alaska Water and Wastewater Works Advisory Board: This board oversees regulatory practice associated with water and wastewater operations and serves in the dispute process between operators and the Department of Environmental Conservation. Kurt Z. Egelhofer of Anchorage was appointed to a term that expires April 18, 2007. Thomas S. Coolidge of Anchorage was reappointed to a term that expires April 18, 2009. James C. Berg of Anchorage, Mark Buggins of Sitka, Bruce R. Jones of Petersburg, and Jim Ridgway of Anchorage were reappointed to terms that expire April 18, 2010.

Fred Boehme of Anchorage was appointed to the Alaska Boating Safety Advisory Council and Catherine (Cathey) Sterling of Anchorage was re-appointed to the council. Boehme will serve until Sept. 7, 2008 and Sterling will serve until Sept. 7, 2007.

Owen Eben of Anchorage and Dr. Verner Stillner of Auke Bay were appointed to the Alaska Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse. Eben will serve until July 1, 2009 and Stillner will serve until July 1, 2010.

William E. Burton of Kodiak and Cyndie K. Warbelow-Tack of Fairbanks were appointed to the Alaska Board of Agriculture and Conservation. Burton will serve until Sept. 1, 2007 and Warbelow-Tack will serve until Sept. 1, 2006.



Source of News:

Office of the Governor
Web Site


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter on SitNews
        Read Letters/Opinions
Submit A Letter to the Editor

Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska