SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Eighteen Alaskans Win Byrd Scholarships


May 22, 2009

The Alaska Department of Education & Early Development recently selected 18 Alaska high school seniors to receive the Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship through a statewide competitive process.

Scholars selected for this prestigious award are Peter Stanton, Ketchikan High School; Rebecca Ware, Petersburg High School; Katrina McCandless, Wrangell High School; Helen West, Sitka High School; Talitha Wilson, Juneau Douglas High School; Emma Roemhildt, Cordova High School; Joseph Warren, Bethel Regional High School; Maia Peirce, Lathrop High School; Samantha Williams, Kodiak High School; Molly Watkins, Kenai Central High; Theresa Ramponi, Soldotna High School; Rachel Kenley, Palmer High School; Madison Moss, Palmer High School; Summer Holt, Robert Service High School; Sydney Gunnarson, West Anchorage High School; Christina Knapp, East Anchorage High School; Valerie Kirk, South Anchorage High School; and Janine Ray, Galena- IDEA.

The Robert C. Byrd Scholarship recognizes continuing academic excellence, community service and outstanding achievements of high school seniors. The initial award is $1,500 for the 2009-2010 school year. The scholarship is renewable for up to four years of study at an accredited postsecondary institution. Over 146 applications were received from school districts throughout Alaska.


Source of News:

Alaska Department of Education & Early Development




E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2009
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska