SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Saxman announces election results


May 01, 2006

Ketchikan, Alaska - The Organized Village of Saxman conducted their annual Tribal Council election on Thursday, April 20, 2006. In Saxman there are two forms of government one is the City of Saxman which serves as the municipal government and the other is the Organized Village of Saxman which serves as the Tribal government. The City of Saxman is governed by the Saxman City Council and the Tribal Government is governed by the Saxman IRA Council.

Lee Wallace was re-elected to serve as the Tribal Council President. Richard H.K. Makua and Harvey Shields were elected to serve for the two vacant positions for the term of one year. Ginger M. Fox, Charles Denny, and Sarah Abbott were elected to serve for the three vacant positions for a term of two years.

Denise James, Melvin Charles, Richard Shields, Kevin Shields and Nora DeWitt who served as the past Tribal Council Members were thanked for their hard work.

On May 15th these elected officials will be sworn into office.




E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter on SitNews
        Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska