Sitnews - Stories In The News - Ketchikan, Alaska - News, Features, Opinions...


First Lady's Volunteer Awards Presented
To Alaska's Top Volunteers


May 04, 2004

The First Lady's Volunteer of the Year Awards recognize those who demonstrate extraordinary personal commitment to long-time volunteer service. Alaska's First Lady Nancy Murkowski recognized Alaska's top volunteers during the Alaska Conference on Volunteerism held in Anchorage April 15th-16th. The 2004 Volunteer of the Year Awards were presented on April 15th.

Photo - Award Winners

Alaska's top volunteer award winners were (left to right) Bev Dunham of Seward, Paul Gonzales of Anchorage, Courtney Davison of Anchorage, MSgt. Paul E. Verrier of Anchorage, First Lady Nancy Murkowski, James E. Montgomery Jr. of Kenai, Anne Gonzales of Anchorage, Sue Underwood of Eagle River, Steve Ziegman of Healy, Debra Lighthart (wife of winner Pat Lighthart of Wasilla). Not pictured: Rene Gonzales of Anchorage, Keli Reno of Thorne Bay, and Ken and Vera Roberson of Glennallen.

The Alaska Conference on Volunteerism was sponsored by the Alaska State Community Service Commission.


Source of News Release & Photograph:

Office of the Governor
Web Site



E-mail your news & photos to

Post a Comment
        View Comments
Submit an Opinion - Letter

Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska