SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

Tribe Adjourns 77th Annual Tribal Assembly
Mary Elizabeth Jones of Ketchikan Presented the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award


April 23, 2012

(SitNews) Juneau, Alaska - Central Council Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska (Central Council) adjourned its 77th Annual Tribal Assembly April 21, 2012 at the Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall in Juneau, Alaska.

In an overwhelming show of support for the Tribe’s leadership, the tribal delegation re-elected incumbent President, Edward K. Thomas, and the six incumbent Vice Presidents, to additional two-year terms. This is the first time in the history of the Tribe that the full Executive Council has been reseated in their current positions. 

jpg Tribe Adjourns 77th Annual Tribal Assembly; Mary Elizabeth Jones of Ketchikan Presented the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Executive Council being sworn in L-R: Youth Representative Rick Tagaban, 4th VP Richard Peterson, 3rd VP Yodean Armour, 2nd VP Robert A. Sanderson Jr., President Edward K. Thomas, 1st VP Will Micklin, 5th VP Harold Houston, 6th VP Lowell Halverson
Photograph courtesy CCTHITA

Vice presidents re-elected are 1st Vice President William Micklin of San Francisco, 2nd Vice President Robert Sanderson Jr. of Ketchikan, 3rd Vice President Yodean Armour of Klawock, 4th Vice President Richard Peterson of Kasaan, 5th Vice President Harold Houston of Juneau, and 6th Vice President Lowell Halverson of Seattle.

Also seated were Chief Justice Debra O’Gara of Juneau, Tribal Judge Betty Jo Moore of Sitka, Youth Representative Rick Tagaban of Juneau, and Delegate/Citizen of the Year Robert W. Loescher of Juneau.

During the Assembly there were 60 resolutions introduced that addressed the concerns of tribes, communities, and tribal citizens with regard to matters such as health and human services, education and training, tribal government, housing, governmental affairs, and natural resources. 

Highlights of the Assembly included: Keynote Address by Alaska Native Brotherhood Grand Camp President Dennis Demmert of Klawock; an Honor Dinner for Alaska Native Sisterhood (ANS) Grand Camp President Emeritus Mary Elizabeth Jones of Ketchikan; the presentation of a State of Alaska Proclamation co-sponsored by Senators Albert Kookesh and Dennis Egan recognizing Doloresa Cadiente-Hardin; speeches from Tribal Hostess Marge Gamble of Juneau, Tribal Host David Leask of Seattle, and Alaska Native Sisterhood Grand Camp President Mary Brown of Klawock; and exceptional dance performances by Woosh.ji.een, Harborview Elementary School’s Tlingit Culture and Language Program, and Children of All Nations.

President Thomas presented Mary Elizabeth Jones of Ketchikan with the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award, during the Honor Dinner, for her many contributions towards improving the healthcare services for the Tlingit and Haida people and strengthening Alaska Native women’s political positions within their communities. The event was made extra special with members of the ANS drumming and singing. In addition, the Doloresa Cadiente-Hardin Tribal Justice Award was presented to its first two recipients -Tribal Child Support Unit Attorney Jessie Archibald and Alaska Legal Services Corporation Attorney Holly Handler.

“We are very much aware of the challenges the federal government faces with our nation’s budget deficit, but our tribe needs to continue to be a strong advocate for the funding of programs needed by our needy tribal citizens,” said President Edward K. Thomas.



Source of News & Photograph: 

Central Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2012
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews may be protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper sources.