SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

University of Alaska Southeast Ketchikan Students to Graduate


April 21, 2011

(SitNews) Ketchikan, Alaska - The University of Alaska Southeast Ketchikan announced that twenty-four students will be receiving degrees this spring.

The 2011 Commencement ceremony for University of Alaska Southeast (UAS) Ketchikan students will be held Saturday, April 30 at 3:00 PM at the Ted Ferry Civic Center. The public is invited to attend.

This year’s commencement keynote speaker is Ketchikan Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year, Ed Zastrow. UAS Chancellor John Pugh; UAS Ketchikan Professor of Anthropology and Sociology, Priscilla Schulte; and University of Alaska Board of Regents members Timothy Brady of Anchorage, Carl Marrs of Anchorage and Bob Martin of Juneau will bestow honors and degrees at the ceremony.

University of Alaska students living in Ketchikan and receiving degrees from other campuses are invited to participate in the local ceremony.

Students receiving degrees are:

Associate of Arts

Johnathan Biays Bowerman
Heather Arlene Evoy
Rebecca Sue Hannon
Forest Star Haven
Angelita Romero Long
Carena V.  Wood

Associate of Applied Science - Business Administration

Carly Alicia Booth
Helen L. Mickel
Cristina S. Peck
Jaime L. Scudero

Associate of Applied Science - CIOS (Computer Information and Office Systems)

Katrin Jensen
Richard W. Darrington

Associate of Applied Science – Early Childhood Education

Johanna Kathryn Chadwell

Associate of Applied Science - Fisheries Technology

William E. Lyden

Associate of Applied Science  - Radiologic Technology (UAA )

Angela M. Szurleys

Bachelor of Business Administration

Abigail Elisa Capestany

Bachelor of Elementary Education

Jane Anne Blasingame

Bachelor of Liberal Arts – Interdisciplinary Studies

Katie Jo Parrott
Brandy Lyn Schmitz-Prefontaine

Bachelor of Social Work (UAF)

Laura Davidson

Master of Education – Early Childhood Education

Kathleen Griego-Varela
Kristy Ann Hamilton

Master of Public Administration

Sonia Maureen Christensen
Christopher Patrick Hoyt

Stephen Reeve will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Laws.



Source of News: 

University of Alaska Southeast Ketchikan


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2011
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska