SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


First Lady Sandy Parnell Announces Volunteers of the Year


March 26, 2011

(SitNews) - First Lady Sandy Parnell announced Friday the recipients of the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards.  The recipients were chosen by an executive committee of Alaskan community members.

The recipients are:

Bobbie McCreary, Ketchikan
Marilyn Freitag, Anchorage
Heidi Haas, Fairbanks
Debby L. Hudson, Anchorage
Brianna Jeffers, Nenana
Rebecca Steadman, Valdez

“It is an honor to continue this exceptional tradition that recognizes citizens who have given their time and talent to help others,” said Mrs. Parnell. “Our state is blessed to have so many Alaskans dedicated to helping their communities and fellow citizens, and encouraging others in volunteerism.”

The First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards are awarded to those who engage in unpaid volunteer activities, show remarkable personal commitment to long-term volunteer service, or have made a substantial impact on their community or the state.

The 2011 Volunteer of the Year recipients are:The volunteers will be recognized at a luncheon and ceremony on April 20 in conjunction with National Volunteer Appreciation Month.



Source of News:

Office of the Governor


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2011
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska