SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Want to Help Spend $3.6 Million to Benefit a National Forest?
Apply to Join a RAC by March 31


March 05, 2009

Alaska needs resource advisory committee members to advise the Forest Service on spending over $3 million under the 2008 Secure Rural Schools Act. This money represents up to 15 percent of the $21 million the Act provided to Alaska for roads and schools for this first year of the Act.

RAC areas, Title II received to date

Ketchikan RAC- $498,681.00 for Title II

Ketchikan Borough

Prince of Wales Island RAC- $486,008.00 for Title II

Coffman Cove
Thorne Bay

Lynn Canal/Icy Strait RAC- $304,639.00 for Title II

Haines Borough

Juneau RAC- $168,134.00 for Title

Juneau Borough

Wrangell/Petersburg RAC- $784,342.00 for Title II

Wrangell Borough

Sitka RAC- $297,953.00 for Title II

Sitka Borough
Tenakee Springs
Port Alexander

Yakutat RAC- $75,811.00 for Title II

Yakutat Borough

Prince William Sound RAC- $846,394.00 for Title II


Kenai Peninsula RAC- $177,002.00 for Title II

Kenai Borough
Anchorage Borough

Under the Act, communities in unorganized areas and boroughs that receive Secure Rural Schools money must elect to use 15% of their allocation for one of two separate titles in the Act, or that 15% will revert to the
federal government.

Title III funds may only be used to carry out the Firewise Communities program, develop community wildfire protection plans, and reimburse for emergency services paid for by counties and performed on national forest
systems land.

Title II funds may be used for the protection, restoration, and enhancement of fish and wildlife habitat, and other resource objectives consistent with the Secure Rural Schools Act on national forests. Those funds may also be used on non-federal land where projects would benefit the resources on national forests. Resource advisory committees (RAC) propose and monitor projects under Title II.

RACs from past Secure Rural Schools acts are functioning in Yakutat and Petersburg/Wrangell. New RACs will be forming to service Ketchikan, Prince of Wales Island, Sitka, Juneau, Icy Straits/Lynn Canal, Prince William Sound, and Kenai Peninsula/ Anchorage areas.

Each Resource advisory committee (RAC) will consist of 15 members, and any Alaska resident may apply to sit on any of these committees. However, a person may only sit on one committee at a time. RAC members will serve four years and must represent one of the following interests:

  • Organized labor or non-timber forest product harvester groups
  • Developed outdoor recreation, off highway vehicle users, or commercial recreation activities
  • Energy and mineral development interests; or commercial or recreational fishing interests
  • Commercial timber industry
  • Federal grazing or other land use permit holders or represent non-industrial private forest land owners, within the area for which the RAC is organized
  • Nationally recognized environmental organizations
  • Regionally or locally recognized environmental organizations
  • Dispersed recreational activities
  • Archaeological and historical interests
  • Nationally or regionally recognized wild horse and burro interest groups, wildlife or hunting organizations, or watershed associations
  • Hold state elected office or their designee
  • Hold borough or local elected office
  • Represent American Indian tribes within or adjacent to the area for which the committee is organized
  • School officials or teachers

Submit applications for RAC memberships by March 31. Contact the designated federal official for the RAC of your choice to apply for a membership. The name and contact information for a RAC's designated federal official is located under the RAC link at

Applicants may download a RAC application form (AD-755) from the same site. Additional information may be obtained from Chugach National Forest RAC Coordinator Heather Gott at (907) 743-9505 or Tongass National Forest RAC Coordinator Phil Sammon at (907) or Julie Speegle at 9907) 789-6246 .

Very detailed information concerning the makeup, functions and responsibilities of resource advisory committees under the 2008 Secure Rural Schools Act is on the Web at



Source of News:

Forest Service


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2009
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska