SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Ketchikan Tlingit & Haida Community Council Elect Members


March 31, 2008

Ketchikan, Alaska - On March 20, 2008 elections were held for eight delegates for the Ketchikan Tlingit & Haida Community Council. Elected council members include Holly Churchill, Helene Simpson, Merle Hawkins, Robert Sanderson Jr., Barbara Fields, Sue Pickrell, Martha Johnson and Bonnie Newman.

On March 27, 2008 the council elected as President Barbara L. Fields, Vice President, Robert Sanderson Jr., Treasurer, Helene Simpson and Secretary, Bonnie Newman. The local council thanked Andre "Skip" LeCornu and Roberta Hull for their years of service and expressed appreciation to those individuals who ran this year.

"I am excited to serve as the Tlingit & Haida local chapter president," stated Barbara Fields. "The local chapter has been gathering momentum over the past few years, and I look forward to working with council members and with T&H citizens."

Elected members will be attending the Tlingit & Haida Central Council General Assembly in Juneau in April, 2008. The Ketchikan Local Chapter of Tlingit & Haida Central Council holds monthly meetings on the first Thursday of each month at noon in the fifth floor Ketchikan Indian Community Healing Room at 2960 Tongass Avenue. All tribal citizens are encouraged to attend.



Source of News:

Ketchikan Tlingit & Haida Community Council


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews
        Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2008
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska