SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

KIC swears in elected Tribal Council and AHB members; elects new officers


February 07, 2022
Monday PM

(SitNews) Ketchikan, Alaska - The Ketchikan Indian Community Tribal Council officially swore in three members to its Tribal Council and two members to its Advisory Health Board (AHB) during a special meeting on January 24, 2022.

Sworn in to the Tribal Council were Norman Skan, Melissa Johnson, and Charles “Chas” Edwardson, all reelected incumbents. Also sworn in was new Advisory Health Board member Roberta Hull and Kim Wilson who was elected to joined the AHB after recently stepping in to fill a vacant seat.

jpg KIC swears in elected Tribal Council and AHB members; elects new officers

L to R: Norm Skan, Vice President; Judy Leask Guthrie, Secretary; Trixie Bennett, President; Chas Edwardson, Treasurer

Trixie Bennett is the new KIC president and Tribal Council chair after a vote from Council, with Norm Skan being elected to serve as vice president. Chas Edwardson was elected as treasurer, having served in the position a number of years ago. Judy Leask Guthrie was unanimously voted to continue serving as secretary.

Each nominee was given the opportunity to share their wishes for serving as officers of the KIC Tribal Council. Numerous topics were brought up by nominees including working to achieve the Tribe’s important strategic goals, transparency with Tribal members, enhancing the compliance program, and wise management of Tribal finances.

For more than 20 years President Trixie Bennett has served the Tribe in various capacities including serving as a Tribal Council member and Vice President and working in tribal health administration, safety, quality management, and improvement. She looks forward to putting her experience working with Tribal administration and Tribal Council to work to further the strategic plan and mission of KIC for the benefit of the Tribal community.

“It's a huge honor and a privilege to have the other Tribal Council members select me, entrusting me to facilitate and move forward our strategic plan in service of our membership," Bennett said. “I know we have the same goals and we want the best for our Tribe.”

Past president Gloria Burns, Marcie Fields, Gianna SaanuGa Williard Flanery, Melissa Johnson, and Lloyd Ruaro round out the Tribal Council.

Gloria Burns reflected on her presidency over the past year, expressing her gratitude for the support of the Council and for the efforts of past Presidents, thanking them for setting an example of the dedication and hard work necessary to lead the Tribal government and community.

Ketchikan Indian Community is the second largest tribe in the state of Alaska. Ketchikan Indian Community’s 6000+ tribal citizens are descendants of Tlingit, Haida & Tsimshian as well as Aleut and many other tribal nations.

Ketchikan Indian Community incorporated in 1940 under the Indian Reorganization Act and is now a federally recognized Indian Tribe and a sovereign nation. Ketchikan Indian Community’s mission is to enhance and protect the interests of the Tribe and its Tribal citizens; to assist our Tribal members in becoming self-sufficient through the provision of socioeconomic services; and to enrich and uphold our cultural heritage and traditional way of life.

Edited By: Mary Kauffman, SitNews

Source of News:

Ketchikan Indian Community

Representations of fact and opinions in comments posted are solely those of the individual posters and do not represent the opinions of Sitnews.

Send a letter to the

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2022
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews are considered protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper freelance writers and subscription services.

E-mail your news & photos to

Photographers choosing to submit photographs for publication to SitNews are in doing so granting their permission for publication and for archiving. SitNews does not sell photographs. All requests for purchasing a photograph will be emailed to the photographer.