SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska

KIC Annual Tribal Election Today - Polls Close at 8:00 PM


January 16, 2012

(SitNews) - Today may be a holiday for some but Ketchikan Indian Community staff and members will be occupied with their annual Tribal Council election.  Voting takes place from 9:00am until 8:00pm at the Plaza Mall.  There are eight candidates for Tribal Council and three nominees for the Advisory Health Board.  

Candidates running for re-election on the Tribal Council are incumbents Donna Frank, Rob Sanderson and Merle Hawkins.  Hawkins was appointed to a vacant seat mid-year 2011.  Other candidates for Tribal Council include Cheryl Haven, James Llanos, Sr., Delores Cook, Delores Churchill and Elroy C. Edenshaw.  Those elected will serve a two year term on the Tribal Council. 

KIC members requested the Advisory Health Board return to popular vote and those candidates running include Martha Johnson, Cecelia Johnson and Delma Inman.  Four seats will be filled including two for a two year term and two for a one year term.  

Shortly after the polls close ballots will be counted by the accounting firm of Mecham Richardson & Co.  Results will be posted on the KIC website ( ) as soon as possible after canvassing and certification on January 17th—probably late afternoon.

Ketchikan Indian Community members are encouraged to participate in their local tribal government.  Any member questions may be answered by calling 228-4900. 



Source of News: 

Ketchikan Indian Community


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews         Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2012
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska

 Articles & photographs that appear in SitNews may be protected by copyright and may not be reprinted without written permission from and payment of any required fees to the proper sources.