SitNews - Stories in the News - Ketchikan, Alaska


Two Alaskans named to U.S. Senate Youth Program


January 12, 2008
Saturday AM

Ketchikan, Alaska - U.S. Senators Ted Stevens and Lisa Murkowski announced the names of the two Alaska students who have been selected as delegates to the 46th Annual United States Senate Youth Program that will be held March 1-8, 2008, in Washington, D.C.

Anthony Glavinic of Anchorage and Kyleen Luhrs of Ketchikan were chosen from hundreds of applicants to be part of the group of 104 student delegates who will attend the program's 46th Annual Washington Week.

The program was created in 1962 and has been sponsored by the Senate and fully funded by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation since inception.

Each year this extremely competitive merit-based program brings outstanding high school students to Washington, D.C., for an intensive week-long study of the federal government and the people who lead it.

The goal is to help instill in students a more profound knowledge of the American political process and a lifelong commitment to public service. The foundation grants each of the student delegates a $5,000 college scholarship. Transportation and all expenses for Washington Week are provided by the foundation.

Tonei Glavinic is Advisory Board Co-Chair at Steller Secondary School and a member of the Anchorage School District Student Advisory Board. He is also the President of the Board of Directors for the United Youth Courts of Alaska and a presiding judge in the Anchorage Youth Court.

Glavinic is a member of the Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network National Student Leadership Team and National Advisory Council. He has received recognition from the Spirit of Youth Foundation and several President's Volunteer Service Awards for over 1,000 volunteer hours of service. Tonei plans to pursue a degree in political science and gender studies.

Kyleen Luhrs is Senior Class President at Ketchikan High School. As a sophomore Luhrs successfully brought a resolution to the state legislature to provide healthier options in the school vending machines. She has volunteered hundreds of hours to her community as a coach, tutor and mentor. She is a member of the debate team.

Chosen as alternates to the 2008 program were Andrew Baur, who attends Glennallen High School, and Heather Rand, who attends Whittier Community High School.

The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates after nomination by teachers and principals. This year's Alaska delegates were designated by Barbara Thompson, Interim Commissioner of Education.


Source of News:

Alasaka Department of Education


E-mail your news & photos to

Publish A Letter in SitNews
        Read Letters/Opinions

Contact the Editor

SitNews ©2008
Stories In The News
Ketchikan, Alaska